تود كامبل من هاواي, الصينية, الاسكتلندي الأجداد. ففي مجال makiki هونولولو, حيث انتقل من ماوي عام 1978. وقال إن تشكيل ذاتي بتدريس الفن تأثرت كثيرا مع الثقافات المختلفة والشعور القوي هاواي الحرف التقليدية. وصفت بأنها "الفخارية خشبية" وقال الجميل القطع الفنية التي وجدت طريقها إلى جمع التبرعات الدائمة الخاصة عالميا. المهندسين المعماريين والمصممين الداخلية, والفن بشكل كبير يسعى لكسب منحه قطعة. وقال إن القطع التي تمت بشأن العديد من المعروضات كما فازت بالعديد من الجوائز على مر السنين.

مع العلم أن أكثر من 30 سنة خبرة ويعتبر تود Campbell درجة الماجستير العديد من الخبراء في هذا المجال. وقال انه قد تطورت تطورا الخشب تحول طرق قرب الكمال تهيئة ضخمة تحدد معالم بسيطة تكشف عن تصاميم جميلة الطبيعة المعقدة. وقال انه يعيش ويعمل مع جوهر الخشب delighting من نقائص -knothole وهو whorl من حفرة النمل- فريد ان نسلط الضوء كل الخلق. تود في الفخار خشبية بحماس وقد قبلت فريد الفن وتشمل الأساليب التقليدية والمعاصرة.

الخشب تحول الطرق التي استحدثها تود unorthodoxed: إنها تنطوي على العرف جعلت بتصنيع أشواطا كبيرة من الأشجار, أوعية بلاستيكية. نورفولك تعمل أساسا على الصنوبر, فكل قطعة يتطلب حوالي 9 أشهر لإعداد صياغة. نخبة من شجرة قطعت أشواطا في, بل ان بعضها بوزن يتراوح بين 500 إلى 600 رطلا الطرق. تود لكل تخصص صفحات وفي هذه المرحلة تحديد حجم الشكل العام بعد الانتهاء من القطعة. ثم encases طول كل من الحاويات البلاستيكية, وقد ختم والسماح الحطب العرق لمدة 2 أشهر. وهذا يخلق spalting فترة او داخل الخشب الذي بقعا وعن mottles الخشب, تلقي من ثري عمق اللون. وبعد فترة الشهرين, البلاستيك الحاوية على رفع الناتج ويجري في الخشب sodden وثقيلة من أي وقت مضى. متجر استخدام رافعة ترفع عن كاهل بتصنيع القطعة. هذا الفراغ صحن الخام ومن ثم يتشكل التي يبلغ سمكها 1/2 بوصات.

وخلال بعد 4 إلى 5 أشهر الفراغ هو السماح الهواء الجاف. وكانت القطعة warps, الشقوق, وتدريجيا يفقد من الرطوبة وفي النهاية تزن سوى 30 الطرق. 6 في المائة محتوى الرطوبة, والخشب مستقرة وهم على استعداد لتحويل نهائيا. وباستخدام تعد خصيصا وأدوات تود بتكرير السفينة في 16/3 بوصة وسمكها وتتفاوت ذات 3 بوصات إلى 50 بوصة وعلى قمم 6 بوصات إلى 40 بوصة او أكثر الرمال, وهي عملية تبدأ تخرجهم.

المعاطف عدة خاصة بالنفط خليط فيها هم بحذر طوال فترة أسابيع. الخطوة النهائية هو ختم على قطعة أرض ومع التسليم بين lacquere finish. اكتمال قطعة من الفن صيانة مجانية ضخمة والوظيفية, في المؤتمر الدفء الفنان.

 

 

صفحة | غاليري | ويعمل حاليا | الاستوديو | أحداث | مجموعات | سيرة | اتصالات

Todd Campbell is of Hawaiian, Chinese, and Scottish ancestry. Growing up in the Makiki area of Honolulu and having moved to Maui in 1978. His woodturning is a self-taught art, influenced by many different cultures with the strong feeling of traditional Hawaiian craft. Described as “pottery in wood,” his beautiful, functional pieces have found their way into private and permanent collections worldwide. Architects, interior designers, and art connoisseurs highly seek his award winning pieces. His pieces have been in numerous juried exhibits and have won many awards throughout the years.

With over 30 years of experience, Todd Campbell is considered a “master” by many in his field. He has developed advanced wood-turning methods to near perfection, creating massive, simple shapes that reveal the beautiful and intricate designs of nature. He works with the living essence of wood, delighting in the imperfections - a knothole, a whorl, a termite hole - that uniquely highlight each individual creation. Todd's "pottery in wood" has been enthusiastically accepted as a unique art form encompassing traditional and contemporary styles.

The wood turning methods developed by Todd are unorthodoxed: they involve a custom-made lathe & chisels, large lengths of trees, and plastic containers. Working primarily with Norfolk Pine, each piece requires approximately 9 months of preparation and crafting. A selected tree is cut into lengths, some of which weigh between 500 lbs to 600 lbs. Todd earmarks each length, determining at this point the size and general shape of a finished piece. He then encases each length in a plastic container, sealing it and allowing the wood to "sweat" for 2 months. This spalting period creates mildew within the wood which stains and mottles the wood, darkening it to a rich, deep color. After the two month period, the plastic container is removed resulting in the wood being sodden and heavier than before. A shop crane is used to lift the piece onto the lathe. This 'bowl blank' is then rough shaped to a thickness of 1 1/2 inches.

During the following 4 to 5 months, the "blank" is allowed to air dry. The piece warps, cracks, and gradually loses it's moisture eventually weighing only 30 lbs. At 6% moisture content, the wood is stable and ready for the final turning. Using custom-designed tools, Todd refines the vessel to a 3/16 inch thickness (with varying diameters of 3 inches to 50 inches and heights of 6 inches to 40 inches or more), sands it, and begins the finishing process

Several coats of a special oil-lacquer mixture are carefully applied over a period of weeks. The final step is to seal the piece with a hand-rubbed lacquere finish. The completed art piece is maintenance-free, massive, functional, and glowing with the warmth of the artist.

 

 

Home | Gallery | Current Works | Studio | Scenic | Events | Collections | Biography | Contact